1894 Followers
70 Following
TheLoveJunkee

Caught in a FAB Romance (@TheLoveJunkee)

Introvert, Worrier, Owner of the blog "Caught in a FAB Romance", and resident Romance Guru on Parajunkee's View. I've been blogging about books for four years - if it's got romance in it, I'll read it! You can also find me on twitter, tweeting about books, my family, and sometimes, The Saints: @TheLoveJunkee Find me on Instagram:Instagram

Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews

Burn for Me - Ilona Andrews
PJ header
 
 

PJV Quickie: I am always wary of a favorite author starting a new series. Being that this is Ilona Andrews, though, I had high expectations going in to Burn for Me, and to say I was not disappointed is a huge understatement. Burn for Me grabbed my attention and kept me turning the pages until the end.  I cannot wait until the next installment in this fabulous new series.

 

Review:

Burn for Me is set in a version of our world that is full of magic. The magic is carefully cultivated and passed down through family lines and magical dynasties have been created.

 

Nevada Baylor is a private investigator in her small family firm. In the magical caste system, her family is not important at all.  Due to a series of unfortunate circumstances, they had to sell their independent firm to a larger corporation in order to stay in business.  When the corporation calls her up to handle a particularly difficult (and dangerous) case involving a powerful firestarter, she knows she won't be able to bring in the culprit but does not have the option of turning the case down.

 

Mad Rogan is a legend.  His magical abilities are epic and his family is one of the most powerful in the world.  He is searching for his nephew, an accomplice to the firestarter and wants to know what Nevada has uncovered.  She refuses to talk and he's intrigued by her ability to resist his magic and wants to know what secrets she's hiding, unrelated to the case.

 

Nevada soon realizes that if she wants to stay alive, she's going to have to work with Mad Rogan.  As they track down the firestarter, an attraction grows, but Nevada knows that as a 'nobody', she doesn't have any hope of a relationship with a powerful magic user like Mad, and she doesn't want to fall for him and end up hurt when he's done with her.

~~~~~~~

 

The summary above doesn't express what an awesome book Burn for Me is! Parajunkee reviewed it a few months ago here, and she was spot on - I loved this book! The worldbuilding was cool, I like the idea of magic being "discovered" and the repercussions of that through successive generations.  In addition to the interesting plot, which kept me guessing, the characters were genuinely interesting.  Nevada was a great heroine: ethical and family-oriented and fiercely loyal to her clients.  Rogan is my idea of a perfect bad-boy hero: strong, powerful and protective, but dangerous and deadly too. The secondary characters kept me entertained; there were times when Nevada's family members stole the show.  I'm not sure if I should admit that I kind of liked the flirty, spoiled bad-boy firestarter right up until the end.  (Hmmm...I may have a soft spot for bad-boys)

 

Don't let the cover turn you away - Burn for Me is an Urban Fantasy read with *just enough* romance to keep my romantic little heart happy. The smoldering tension is soooo good, but really as far as sex there's only a kiss or two.

 

Recommendations:

Fans of UF and PNR should both like Burn for Me; it's got action and humor, but enough romance (and promise for more in the future) to satisfy someone who normally reads romance.  It's a given that fans of Ilona Andrews will love Burn for Me, but if you haven't read any of their other books, Burn for Me is a good place to start.

 

PJ new signature