1894 Followers
70 Following
TheLoveJunkee

Caught in a FAB Romance (@TheLoveJunkee)

Introvert, Worrier, Owner of the blog "Caught in a FAB Romance", and resident Romance Guru on Parajunkee's View. I've been blogging about books for four years - if it's got romance in it, I'll read it! You can also find me on twitter, tweeting about books, my family, and sometimes, The Saints: @TheLoveJunkee Find me on Instagram:Instagram

Manwhore by Katy Evans

Manwhore - Katy Evans
PJ header
 
 

PJV Quickie: Oh. My. Gawd.  Manwhore was totally not what I expected, and I mean that in a good way.  I already knew and loved Katy Evans' other series, Real, so I knew it would be good. I just didn't realize I would get emotionally involved with these characters - I haven't stopped thinking about them!

 

Review:

Rachel Livingston is a writer for Edge, a magazine that's been slowly failing and is on the verge of collapse. She's been with Edge since she graduated from college and loves it there. When her boss suggests an expose of one of Chicago's most notorious bad boys, Malcolm Saint, she jumps on it: Malcolm Saint comes from a long line of old money. He's privileged, sexy, relentless, and private. He works continuously, and doesn't do relationships.  If she can just get in a little bit and see the 'real' Malcolm Saint, her story will save the magazine and advance her career.

 

The more time she spends with Saint and gets bits and pieces of the person behind the public image, the more she realizes she's also giving him bits and pieces of herself.  And maybe she doesn't want to share the bits and pieces Saint has given her, because their bits and pieces seem to fit each other - and not just for amazing sex.

 

~~~~~

 

I really enjoyed Real by Katy Evans, so when I received Manwhore for review, I was pretty excited.  When I read the blurb "reporter getting the scoop on playboy millionaire" - I figured that I had been there and done that, but since it was Katy Evans, I was going in anyway.  I should have known better; the story pulled me in and I felt myself falling for Malcolm Saint right along with Rachel, the heroine. I was getting anxious every time Rachel thought about telling Malcolm why they really met. I was dreading him eventually finding out, because I knew he would. And I was devastated, right along with our heroine after certain events unfolded.  I absolutely love it when a writer can pull me into the story and make me feel like I'm part of the story. The outside world fades away, and I am there.

 

Ms. Evans wrote such a wonderfully layered and engaging story in Manwhore - Saint is not a stereotypical alphahole who drags Rachel by her hair back to his mancave. He's complex and interesting, and IMHO has the patience of a saint (pun intended). The reader is drawn towards his character right along with the heroine, and to be honest, I found him completely swoonworthy. If you keep a list of book boyfriends, you'd better clear a spot for Malcolm Saint on that list.  I was surprised that Rachel is (to me) a sympathetic character, because of her duplicity I wasn't prepared to like her, but the complications of her taking the story then not coming clean are tangled and tortuous and I love that she learns more about herself through her relationship with Saint.  (In case you're wondering, the sexytimes were pretty hot too.)

 

I always like to know a bit about the secondary characters, and honestly, when I saw that Rachel had two besties, and Saint had two besties, I thought that this would be a trilogy - one book for each couple.  That's not happening here. There may or may not be some couplings (honestly, I'm not sure), but Manwhore does have a cliffhanger ending - we'll have to read book 2 for their HEA (OMG it had better be an HEA!). I hate cliffies, really hate them, and this is why - because I need more NOW. Not July (when Manwhore +1 comes out), not tomorrow, NOW.  Why are you torturing me, Katy Evans and Gallery Books?

 

Recommendations:

I need to point out here that Manwhore is nothing like Real, so if you're already a Katy Evans fan, don't go in expecting a Remy and Brooke story. That being said, if you like Katy Evans, definitely give Manwhore a read.   If you like billionaire heroes, this is the book for you.  Fans of Sylvia Day, J. Kenner, and Christina Lauren will probably also enjoy Manwhore.

 

PJ new signature