1894 Followers
70 Following
TheLoveJunkee

Caught in a FAB Romance (@TheLoveJunkee)

Introvert, Worrier, Owner of the blog "Caught in a FAB Romance", and resident Romance Guru on Parajunkee's View. I've been blogging about books for four years - if it's got romance in it, I'll read it! You can also find me on twitter, tweeting about books, my family, and sometimes, The Saints: @TheLoveJunkee Find me on Instagram:Instagram

Dragon's Lair by Chantal Fernando

Dragon's Lair (Wind Dragons Motorcycle Club) - Chantal Fernando
PJ header
 
 

 

PJV Quickie: When Dragon's Lair showed up in my mailbox, I wasn't sure what to expect - another MC Romance? Ok, I'll bite... As it turns out, I really liked Dragon's Lair. There were a couple of nitpicky things but the story was so good, I didn't really care. As soon as I closed the book, I wanted to start reading book 2, Arrow's Hell.

 

Review:

Faye grew up with parents who didn't show much affection and were always worried about appearances. As a child, she found solace with two brothers who lived next door, Dex and Eric.  Dex was older and looked out for her, and she had a bad case of hero-worship.  When they were older, Fay and Eric started dating, and things got serious: they had big plans to open a law firm together when they graduated from law school and get married. That dream died when Faye walked in on Eric having sex with another woman.

 

Dex is a biker with the notorious biker gang, the Wind Dragons. They're not a "Weekend Warrior"-type biker gang; they are involved in illegal activities, including murder, and they have many enemies in other biker gangs. When Dex finds out Faye has been kicked out of her house and is leaving town with something that is his, he goes after her and brings her back to the Wind Dragon's compound.

 

A rebound one-night stand has turned into something more between Faye and Dex, and as they learn to deal with their situation and each other, genuine affection blooms. But life in the MC compound is sometimes dangerous, and Faye has questions Dex can't or won't answer, and she finds herself becoming more and more involved - with the man and the club.

 

~~~~~

 

As I mentioned in my PJV Quickie, this was not a title I had requested, but I'm so glad Gallery sent it! I really enjoyed the characters - especially Faye. Faye was curious and stubborn and self-reliant. She asked a lot of questions she shouldn't have, and her curiosity has the potential to get her into a lot of trouble.  She let the small stuff slide (small is relative when you're dealing with an outlaw MC, lol) but didn't back down if it was important to her, and I liked that.

 

Dex was a tough biker who goes by the name of "Sin" and is sex-on-a-stick (or bike, as the case may be).  I liked that he was bad-ass but cared for Faye and wanted to take care of her. That scary-but-sweet gets me every time ;) I wish we could have had more of his background and his journey to the MC.  Speaking of the MC, I loved these guys! They were so good to Faye and some of their scenes were so funny.

 

With this cast of interesting characters, Dragon's Lair kept me entertained and the story moved quickly. There were a few spots where I thought "really?" and without giving away spoilers, there was a specific scene near the beginning of the book where I think if he would have said something instead of looking angry, things would have been different for this couple. BUT, and that's a big "but", I was so into the story that I just let it go. I absolutely cannot wait to get my hands on the next book, Arrow's Hell.  I am already intrigued by the hero and heroine.

 

Recommendations:

If you like MC Romance, I'd definitely recommend Dragon's Lair.  Fans of Joanna Wylde or Kristen Ashley should enjoy Dragon's Lair; it's a little different but I think you'll like it. As I type this, the kindle version of Dragon's Lair is only $3.99 - totally worth it.

 

PJ new signature