1895 Followers
70 Following
TheLoveJunkee

Caught in a FAB Romance (@TheLoveJunkee)

Introvert, Worrier, Owner of the blog "Caught in a FAB Romance", and resident Romance Guru on Parajunkee's View. I've been blogging about books for four years - if it's got romance in it, I'll read it! You can also find me on twitter, tweeting about books, my family, and sometimes, The Saints: @TheLoveJunkee Find me on Instagram:Instagram

Between a Vamp and a Hard Place by Jessica Sims

Between a Vamp and a Hard Place - Jessica Sims

PJ header

 

PJV Quickie:Between a Vamp and a Hard Place was a cute, fun paranormal read. You're not going to find anything new or groundbreaking in PNR Vampire lore here, but there's a lot of humor in the story and I enjoyed the heroine and her BFF. Although this is not my favorite Jessica Sims book, I enjoyed the time I spent reading it.

 

Review:

Lindsey Hughes and her best friend Gemma have been besties almost their entire lives. They grew up in a State home together and now run an antique store.  They're barely scraping by when a "friend" of Gemma's offers them exclusive rights to the contents of an old, abandoned apartment in Venice.  Despite her misgivings, Lindsey agrees to go and try to recoup their savings.  What they find when they get there is more than their wildest dreams...

 

Rand FitzWulf has been a vampire for 200 years, plus the 600 years he's been laying in a coffin, staked in the heart. When a beautiful woman wakes him up, he realizes someone tried to kill him and he vows revenge, but he's going to need help navigating this new and confusing time he's awakened in.

 

As Lindsey and Rand solve the puzzle of what happened to him, they are on their way to confronting a foe bigger than Lindsey could have imagined, and although she fixed Rand's heart by pulling out the stake, as they spend more time together she's losing hers.

~~~~~

 

By looking at the cover, I thought this book was part of the Midnight Liaisons series, but as soon as I read the blurb I realized it was not - Between a Vamp and a Hard Place is a standalone novel.  It was fun and sexy, but as I state in my PJV Quickie, nothing new in the vampire lore - holy water, garlic, and daytime are bad for the vamps, they're able to use compulsion, and of course the heroine has 'special' blood.

 

What grabbed me with this book is the heroine's sense of humor - she's just plain funny. I found myself smiling a lot while reading Between a Vamp and a Hard Place. The hero's difficulty adjusting to present day and the snarky comments Lindsey and Gemma give him are hysterical. I also felt like the pacing moved well and the story moved quickly.

 

There were one or two inconsistencies and a few spots that earned eye rolls, but overall it was nice to spend a few hours with these characters and  I'm looking forward to whatever Ms. Sims has planned next!

 

Recommendation:
Fans of Molly Harper and Ashlyn Chase should give Between a Vamp and a Hard Place a try.  If you're looking for a sexy paranormal romance and vamps are your catnip, this is one you won't want to miss.

 

PJ new signature